John Barrowman to release new album 'Another Side'

John Barrowman - Another Side

John Barrowman, much loved actor, singer, TV and West End star releases his highly anticipated new album 'Another Side' on November 12th, 2007 on Sony BMG.

'Another Side' is an album full of classic songs. They are songs that John has wanted to record for many years, all of them having had a personal meaning or connection in his life and career. Across a number of musical genres, but predominantly sumptuous, streamlined pop, he lends his rich vocals to, amongst others, Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time", Elton John's "Your Song", Chicago's "If You Leave Me Now" and Billy Joel's "She's Always A Woman To Me".

"All Out Of Love" is an epic ballad featuring intense, soaring strings. "Weekend In New England", a Barry Manilow classic; "Feeling Good" is a nod to a bygone era, with a wonderfully late night supper club feel, and "All By Myself", is the perfect finale, a tribute to Eric Carmen's masterful original.

John Barrowman is a unique actor, singer and presenter. He is best known on British TV as Captain Jack Harkness in BBC's Doctor Who and it's especially created spin-off series Torchwood. In the last year alone he has been on a variety of primetime television shows, whether judging on the award winning BBC1 entertainment shows How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria? and Any Dream Will Do, as a celebrity skater on the ITV show Dancing On Ice, and a hugely amusing and memorable guest on The Jonathan Ross Show, The Friday Night Project and Never Mind the Buzzcocks. He has also starred in many top West End productions including Miss Saigon, Beauty & The Beast, Grease! And The Phantom Of The Opera.

His standing with the British public is such that he was recently proclaimed 'a national treasure' by The Times. Now, he has returned to his first love, music, and to commit his favourite songs to record.

As John himself says:

"I see myself being very different from the average singer. I have released records before, but this is my first for a mainstream audience. But I do want to make it absolutely clear here and now: I am not trying to be a pop star. I'm just trying to make a high quality album full of songs that I hope people would want to hear me sing. For those who only maybe know me from television, I'd like them to discover another side of me."

'Another Side' Tracklisting:

1. All Out Of Love
2. You're So Vain
3. She's Always A Woman
4. Time After Time
5. Weekend In New England
6. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
7. If You Leave Me Now
8. Your Song
9. Please Remember Me
10. Heaven
11. Being Alive
12. Feeling Good
13. All By Myself

John Barrowman - 'Another Side' on

John Barrowman Official Website

More music: Jenny May music

Music News Twitter

About bandweblogs

User: bandweblogs : Publishing music news submitted by PR Agencies, Record Labels, bands and musicians from around the world. Reviews can be found at the "Reviews and Commentary" link at the top of the page. For more information about Band Weblogs, please go to the About page to read more. Submit music news, press releases, images and more to: info at bandweblogs dot com
This entry was posted in Albums, Music, New Releases, Press Releases and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
Subscribe to blog entries by Email | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>